Fuck Racism.

Tonight I dealt with racism. Legitimate racism. And I was not open minded to the other persons thoughts whatsoever.

You see, my brothers are Filipino, making them ‘brown skinned,’ which calling them that is entirely bullshit. I witnessed them deal with racism growing up, violently even. I saw one of my brothers get into a physical altercation because of it. I don’t understand, and have never understood, why hating someone because of their ethnicity is a thing. I tried for a brief moment to understand, but simply put: I could not.

I argued with this person. Eventually becoming frustrated with their biased and closed minded beliefs that I could not be in their presence. A new friend, Tom, explained that there are always people like them to exist, and those that remained in conversation are strong enough to listen, and study, this persons beliefs. I could not. I cried in front of them.

I cannot open my mind enough to hear them out, to try and understand why they loathe people based off the color of their skin, the origin of their background. I cannot.

I cried, several tears, because of this. Sobbing, bawling, whatever you wish to call it; I could not hold back my heartbreak and sorrow because of this person.

I love my brothers VERY much. I grew up with them. Was raised by them. Have learned the essentials in becoming a ‘man’ by them. So to deal with someone whom would have distain towards them, because of the color of their skin, is a task alone. One I did not have the patience for.

I am going to sleep, try to recover emotionally from the energy depleted by dealing with this person. I do not hate them, I just wish they weren’t set in their wretched ways.

Leave a Reply

