This Small Bit of Hope

It was good to hear your voice

See your smile

It’s still my favourite, of course

I hope my voice wasn’t too hoarse

Your mahogany brown eyes, beautiful and wide

Prove to me that your day to day is more than just ‘alright’

I just wish that it were still me, the boy you call ‘baby’ so lovingly

But I had to let you go when he came into your mind

 

I have to suppress this small bit of hope

That you still love me

It’s enough to keep me afloat

As I’m swimming through this misery

But one day I’ll start to drown

Tired from weights, and waits, that hold me down

I just hope that you are there to grab my hand

Or at least comfort me as I pass

 

Keep in mind my heart was shattered

When you left me, then found a new guy unexpectedly

It messes with my head

My mind was already plagued

It hurts you gave up on us

But I think I understand…

 

I have to suppress this small bit of hope that I still carry

It’s better for us both, we were going crazy

O, I pray I pray I pray that you find a way to escape

That shitty city you venture every day

 

Go to Alaska… I hear it’s pretty great

 

I have to suppress this small bit of hope

That maybe I’m not wrong, and we are meant to be

Together throughout life, until then, just grow, just grow

I’m doing my best to never let you go

 

But I still have to suppress this small bit of hope.

Leave a Reply

